PDA

View Full Version : How to get Svideo on a SUPER NOVA?



wjw123
10-01-2000, 05:11 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know how to get Svideo on a Super Nova? Composite just cant do.


William

chimpmeister
10-01-2000, 09:41 PM
The current model of SuperNOVA includes three video outputs: composite video (ugh), s-video, and RGB. Unless you have some old model, you should have those video outputs already with your SuperNOVA.

Here's a link to the MAS Systems description of the Super NOVA:
http://www.massystems.com/SuperNova.html

[This message has been edited by chimpmeister (edited October 01, 2000).]

wjw123
10-01-2000, 09:44 PM
Hi.

OK I got an older model look like - only composite coming out and a 8 din in back.

Now that I'm stuck with this can I put Svideo on it?

William



Originally posted by chimpmeister:
The current model of SuperNOVA includes three video outputs: composite video (ugh), s-video, and RGB. Unless you have some old model, you should have those video outputs already with your SuperNOVA.

Here's a link to the MAS Systems description of the Super NOVA:
http://www.massystems.com/SuperNova.html

[This message has been edited by chimpmeister (edited October 01, 2000).]

chimpmeister
10-01-2000, 09:56 PM
I'm not sure . . . I'll leave that question to Jeff Kurtz, the resident expert on all things Neo. If anyone can answer it, he can . . . and if anyone can DO it, he would be the one.

However, if I were you I'd look to dump your old-model SuperNOVA and get a new model that includes s-video.

JMKurtz
10-02-2000, 08:16 AM
For arcade boards, your best bet is to use the RGB->NTSC board from http://www.jrok.com -- the last I checked, it ran around $80. This is the same board that is used in a couple other SuperGun devices.

Jeff

wjw123
10-02-2000, 11:06 PM
Jeff,

Thanks for the reply - I will probably get a new Super Nova or a Jamma Cabinet next year.

William


Originally posted by JMKurtz:
For arcade boards, your best bet is to use the RGB->NTSC board from http://www.jrok.com -- the last I checked, it ran around $80. This is the same board that is used in a couple other SuperGun devices.

Jeff

wjw123
10-02-2000, 11:07 PM
>>However, if I were you I'd look to dump your old-model SuperNOVA and get a new model that includes s-video<<

I think you re right. thanks

William

Wan-Fu
10-05-2000, 10:31 PM
You should call up MAS and ask him if he can upgrade your SuperNOVA. He will charge you a fee and you will have to ship your system to him but this will most certainly be cheaper than buying a new one. In my dealings with MAS I have found that he is willing to do custom work at very reasonable prices.

wjw123
10-06-2000, 01:44 AM
Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion - I will give it a try.

William


Originally posted by Wan-Fu:
You should call up MAS and ask him if he can upgrade your SuperNOVA. He will charge you a fee and you will have to ship your system to him but this will most certainly be cheaper than buying a new one. In my dealings with MAS I have found that he is willing to do custom work at very reasonable prices.