bootlegs allowed on ebay?

Lochlan

Igniz's Servent
Joined
Dec 23, 2006
Posts
1,067
No. Read the ebay policies covering copyright infringement.

Unfortunately it doesn't keep the "100% Working" carts from slipping by.

People don't put the word "bootleg" in the auction because ebay's software has algorithms that pull auctions with certain key words or phrases.
 

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
No. Read the ebay policies covering copyright infringement.

Unfortunately it doesn't keep the "100% Working" carts from slipping by.

People don't put the word "bootleg" in the auction because ebay's software has algorithms that pull auctions with certain key words or phrases.

i knew that ebay had policies against copyright infringement. I guess it's not always enforced. Sometimes u see listings of music CD's that come with a free copy. I've also seen listings for the bob dylan bootleg series, with "b**tleg" instead of "bootleg" in the title.
 

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
i had a suspicion he was, as he bought it from the neo store. plus some people here change from console to CMVS.
 

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
maybe he's trying avoid trouble by saying he bought them from ebay?
 

OMFG

The Portuguese Chop
15 Year Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2007
Posts
4,764
I think he's trying to go the "I'm throwing these carts in for free" route.
 

Dr. Jigglin

Seasoned Expert
20 Year Member
10 Year Member
15 Year Member
1 Year Member
25 Year Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Posts
25,451
This is still a shitload better than advertising boots as the real thing. Atleast they're fucking telling you.
 

jakeyboy

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2008
Posts
47
I got stung on this. Bought & received a pcb described as "100% working". When i realised i told him i wasnt happy with it being a boot he got all defensive saying it was described as bootleg. Didnt realise there was a secret code word for them.

Needless to say it was far from 100% working - so back it goes.

Whats with all these multi game MVS carts? Theres no way they can expect people to believe they are legit so why does ebay allow them?
 

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
ebay doesn't allow them to use the word "bootleg", so why blame them for not using the word? people should do their research first (eg the "100% working" term)on sites like ng.com before they buy mvs carts on ebay. it's also ebay's fault for allowing people to sell the boot carts. but if they're weren't any boots on ebay then maybe the legit carts would cost more, as there would be less supply for the demand.
if it says 100% working, in theory shouldn't u be able to get a refund, even if it's a boot?
in theory the multi carts would legit if the makers have a licence from snk to sell the games, but I seriously doubt it.
 

jakeyboy

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2008
Posts
47
Dont get me wrong - if someone wants to buy something and are aware that what they are buying is a copy then ok. How about something a bit more straight forward such as "this is a copy" or "not an original". 100% working is ambigious. I could have an original pcb thats 100% working.

I agree that some of the more popular "classic" games are very expensive. I found a splatterhouse pcb for $300! Would be nice to own but im not paying that much. If someone offered me the same game for less then yes it would be tempting to take them up on the offer. But i would feel cheated if someone sold me a copy for the same price as an original.

I remember when eaby was a place where people sold their second hand stuff - not a site filled with "used carsalesmen" trying to palm off their dodgy wares, using trader like descriptions like "in need of some tlc" = obviously broken and needs substantial repairs. 100% working means whatever you are buying works 100% - nothing more nothing less.

To be fair the seller has agreed to refund me but its a lesson learned. Next time i'll ask for high def. photos of the pcb first. As you say joe8, until us ignorant buyers do their research then people who know they are selling boots can do so undetected and those none the wiser are getting stung for it. Why oust those wishing to enter the world of arcade collecting. Instead of taking them for a ride perhaps we should encourage new collectors of original pcbs instead of all these mame cab owners.
 
Last edited:

jakeyboy

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2008
Posts
47
To go back to your original point about the free bootleg carts...
First point - the auction is primarily for the mvs converter. If you get something else with it for free then so be it. He could chuck in anything for free - the kitchen sink - so long as you bid for, pay for and receive the converter.
Second point - the seller is being straight up with the fact that the "free gift" is two counterfeit carts and for that i commend him. If you dont want them when you receive them you could always chuck them out safe in the knowledge you bid for, paid for and received the item you wanted.
 

SuperMegaUltra

Geese's Thug
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Posts
288
The seller is being straight up with the fact that the "free gift" is two counterfeit cartridges and, for that, I commend him.

I had the singular experience of purchasing from voltronbadass not too long ago. Additionally, I had the honor of being the first from these forums to provide him with positive feedback. Without a doubt, it was my most pleasant transaction ever. :)

I agreed to buy his Rage Of The Dragons (SNK Neo•Geo MVS, English). As luck would have it, he had just recently purchased an insert and shockbox for it from the Southtown Homebrew Specialists, though neither had yet arrived. Without hesitation, he generously offered both these items at no additional charge. As surprised as I was by this act of kindness, what happened next truly left me stunned. :eek:

During our PM conversations, I casually mentioned my desire to receive these items before the week's end, which just so happened to be my vacation. He replied with a tracking number: even though the insert and shockbox hadn't arrived, he already shipped the cartridge. I was a little confused and concluded that he must've decided against throwing in those aforementioned freebies. But no! When he finally received the insert and shockbox, they were both sent right to my doorstep in a completely and totally separate shipment: all out of his own pocket, might I add. :cool:

In all my years of buying online, I've never, ever witnessed anything like this. Frankly, I don't think I ever will again. So, lay off this guy; he's in a league of his own. :buttrock:
 
Last edited:

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
It's ironic that the more honest sellers on ebay are the ones that break ebay's rule of using the word "bootleg" and actually tell the buyer what they are getting.
Ebay makes money out of bootleg sales anyway so it's unlikely they'd enforce their supposed rules against counterfeits. if somebody made a boot of a more modern arcade game (that was still being sold new to arcade operators) you'd think they'd be more likely to pull the listing.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
0
I think he's trying to go the "I'm throwing these carts in for free" route.

Exactly right! I'm kind of done with Ebay now that I have this forum, anyway I figured that I would try the "get these free" method, I don't care if ebay doesn't like it, with all the fees between them and paypal they can go suck it!

Also both of these boot ass boots have now been replaced by the real deal! I only threw them in because no one will buy this fuckin worthless convertor.

Thanks SuperMegaUltra! Your kind words are always appreciated!
 

joe8

Legend of Threadless Joe
15 Year Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Posts
4,332
sorry if u were offended by these posts.
u don't have to throw in free carts. everyone wants the converter 2. they're in high demand.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
0
sorry if u were offended by these posts.
u don't have to throw in free carts. everyone wants the converter 2. they're in high demand.

It's gonna take a lot more than that to offend me! :D

Dude no one wants that convertor, I've tried to sell it several times previously! And after i saw that boot of pulstar sell for $120 I figured maybe some poor shmo will want these too.
 

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Posts
27,762
THat Waku 7 is legit, looks like the Korean one. SVC looks like a boot.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
0
THat Waku 7 is legit, looks like the Korean one. SVC looks like a boot.

Your the second person to say that today, it is such a boot! Many big windowed singapore chips. Desoldered chips, desoldered jumpers, shit's weak! I Just purchased a real one, keep your eye on boot no boot cause later I will post pics of both. As soon as my camera batteries charge up.
 

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Posts
27,762
Does it say "Made in Korea" on the label, I can't see it that well.
 

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Posts
27,762
Probably reprinted label then over a boot if there is all windowed eproms, you sure they aren't fixes?
 
Top