Scammer on ebay

bogsie

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Posts
79
Guys, I may be wrong but i believe the ebayer chrisclearout to be a scammer. Check out one of his items here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/GAROU-MARK-OF...ryZ72503QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I believe that he is using pictures from hit-japan amongst others for his listings.

I have contacted ebay already and his auctions vanished for a while, however they have now been relisted.

If ebay dont want to take my concerns seriously I cant be bothered to email them again.
 

Bibliophile

, I liek DragonWarrior
Rating - 100%
215   0   0
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Posts
1,620
It is against ebay rules to copy photos from someone else's auctions. If he is copying hit-japan's pics, that alone is grounds for ebay to end his listings. If you can find a pic elsewhere that he copied, then you should report him.
 

CADMAN2K

Kabuki Klasher
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Posts
125
Scammer on Ebay

I'm afraid Titles like Garou and Pulstar one would expect UK Special Delivery for such high value items , yet the listing shows ''1st Class Standard''
Don't think I will be putting a bid on any of these.!!!
Also In the description ' Items will be sent within 7 days.'' Just enough time to wipeout those Paypal funds:lol:
 

Pocketgamer

Ukyo's Doctor
15 Year Member
Rating - 100%
150   0   0
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Posts
1,202
lol, its funny how the same formula shows up time & time again.

High Value item + Zero Feedback = Scammer
 

CADMAN2K

Kabuki Klasher
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Posts
125
Scammer on Ebay

Maybe we should give this guy the benfit of the doubt, his AES games may have been photographed in different rooms.! Mind not sure that last Blade is in MINT condition.:lol:
 

bojay1997

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
Joined
Apr 18, 2001
Posts
76
Looking at his other auctions, he seems to have listed just about all of the most sought after games on a variety of platforms in factory new condition. I suspect this is a scammer, but I guess you never really know.
 

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Rating - 100%
537   0   0
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Posts
27,762
Just because he is using someone else's pic doesnt mean he's a scammer, for Christ's sake he has 0 feedback and is NEW to ebay.

When I first started on ebay in 2000 I used other peoples pictures in the beginning because I didnt have a digital camera, hell even now some people dont have one.

But of course, watch out.
 

Bibliophile

, I liek DragonWarrior
Rating - 100%
215   0   0
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Posts
1,620
Xian Xi said:
Just because he is using someone else's pic doesnt mean he's a scammer, for Christ's sake he has 0 feedback and is NEW to ebay.

When I first started on ebay in 2000 I used other peoples pictures in the beginning because I didnt have a digital camera, hell even now some people dont have one.

But of course, watch out.

Valid point, but it is against ebay rules. I think the reason behind it is the same reason why on this site members tend type neo-geo.com or their names on photos so that someone else can't steal those photos. It assures that the seller actually possesses the item he claims to sell.
 

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
Rating - 100%
537   0   0
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Posts
27,762
Bibliophile said:
Valid point, but it is against ebay rules. I think the reason behind it is the same reason why on this site members tend type neo-geo.com or their names on photos so that someone else can't steal those photos. It assures that the seller actually possesses the item he claims to sell.

I usually use my signature bedsheets in the background of my photos. :lolz:

2064273708_ed8b51671d.jpg

401289468_ba9163296e.jpg

1565049758_4f8fce02fe.jpg
 
Last edited:

gmfbac

Banned
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
78
bojay1997 said:
Looking at his other auctions, he seems to have listed just about all of the most sought after games on a variety of platforms in factory new condition. I suspect this is a scammer, but I guess you never really know.


you will knowe if you bid and winn............. then you can lett us know...
 

ki_atsushi

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
20 Year Member
Rating - 100%
354   0   0
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Posts
23,747
Similar, but no cigar. There's a registration card in the other pic.
 
B

bigeasy

Guest
Hi all, I'm new to this site and have no interest in neo-geo games, but I did win the auction on ebay for chrisclearout' chrono trigger prototype. however, after not hearing from him for a few days after the auction I did a google search for his name and found this thread. Luckily I paid by paypal so I am covered in that respect but what is bothering me is i've requested his contact details from ebay 3 times now and not had any emails from them. I will let it run for another week but if i don't hear anything i'll start a dispute and get my money back. I'll let you guys know how i get on.
 

CADMAN2K

Kabuki Klasher
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Posts
125
Scammer on Ebay

Good Luck. !!! If I were you I would open that dispute immeditaely regardless.!
If he has cleared out his Paypal account you will get NOTHING.

Paypal say your covered but this does not necessarily mean they can get your money back. (read the clauses).

Keep us posted.
 
B

bigeasy

Guest
looks like he's genuine

Good news! (for me anyway!) looks like his items are coming through now, 1 person has left feedback from him saying the item has arrived, he had quite a lot of stuff all ending at the same time, must have just taken him a while to pack it all up. I'll let you all know if I recieve my game.
 

incrediblehark

New Challenger
Rating - 100%
82   0   0
Joined
May 3, 2006
Posts
67
well that one person is also a new member as of jan 20 08 so it could be a dupe account too. but good luck to you hope you get that chrono proto, or your money back.
 

CADMAN2K

Kabuki Klasher
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Posts
125
Well.? What's the result of this.? 2 weeks since the auctions ended. How many got the games.
 
B

bigeasy

Guest
not recieved the game yet :-(

however, if he is a scammer he isn't a very good one. the phone number he registered on ebay with is genuine and his, i spoke to him yesterday on it. He claims he posted it on the 7th and will email me the tracking number. i hope for his sake he isn't a scammer as i've traced his address, he owns a shop in kidderminster.......
 

CADMAN2K

Kabuki Klasher
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Posts
125
I would be pretty worried if someone told me that it was posted on the 7th and its now the 17th.! Especially if they used a trackable service which should take 3 days Max in the UK. (2nd class).!!!!

So you still dont have the tracking number.?
 
Top