Please allow me to be your disciple. =)

koda

n00b
Hey everyone. =) I'm sure you've figured out by now that I'm new here-- well, in all honesty I'm new to the arcadescene in general. I'm 22 years old, and while I have fond memories of dumping my quarters into the big red MVS cabinets as a kid, arcades are nearly extinct here now, and I was never able to afford to bring my love of arcade games into my home. Thus, my gaming career consists primarily of PC/console/handheld games.

I'm still not able to afford it, but rather than sitting around and dwelling on how I wish I had an AES system, or how I wish I had a cabinet or two, I'd like to start making steps towards achieving these things. They might be babysteps for the time being, but so be it. I'll do what I can.

The first step I think that I need to take is acquainting myself with the hardware end of things. I've been lurking here off and on for the last month or so-- all of this arcade love absolutely fascinates me. I often find myself confused, though, when I see people talking about arcade hardware. Maybe some of you can help clear things up for me? I know that each platform is going to be different, but there seem to be similar concepts and mechanisms that they have in common. I know it's a tall order, but at this point I really need the whole thing spelled out for me. What all do I need to know about different components? If nobody feels like discussing it with me firsthand, links to places where I can learn these things would still be appreciated. =)