Bunch of consolizing questions

lavalyte

New Challenger
I've mentioned in another thread that I'm about to attempt to consolize a 4 slot MVS system. There are no on-line how-to guides that show exactly what I want to know, so I've got some questions....

I've never worked much with sheet metal before. How can I get a nice clean cutting result? What sort of drill bits should I use? How do I create a square hole? Will a dremel do the job?

I bought a rgb signal converter which has s-video and rca plugs wired directly to the board so it looks like I'll have to run cables from the circuit board to the case, so does anyone know a source of sVideo female/female converters? I'd rather embed a converter in the case to plug in to than have to open up an svideo cable and solder it to an svideo plug.

Assuming I get a small PC power supply (I need 5v for the MVS and 12v for the RGB converter) that I can install internally, how do other people affix these to the case? attach them to the underside with glue? Should I wire one up to a PC style plug in the case?

Details details details... I want this to look nice.

If anyone has a website with some pictures of finished 4 or 2 slot mvs consolizations, I'd appeciate a link.

lavalyte

New Challenger
And so the questions continue...

Looking at a picture of another consolized MVS I see that it seems to get it's power through a large 5 pin DIN plug. Is there a common power source that uses this because I can't think of what it might be.

What is the best place to wire up power to the board? If I send power through the jamma connector, do I need to wire up all the 5 volt connectors, or just one?

Thinking about things, I have a spare jamma harness, and I'm tempted to do the power and video wiring through that, just plug it in and fold the wiring back into the case.

FalcomAdol

Fio's Quartermaster
lavalyte said: