my new AES has a bad picture. can anyone help?

FDR

n00b
hi.

i recently purchased an AES system (which i've never owned before) and it seems to function fine, but behind the game images on the screen is a glowing light source which varies in intensity and is very distracting around white text. and it seems to be present with any game that i play, and is especially annoying around the life meters in fighting games. i have tested the unit on two different TVs and with different sets of connector cables and the problem persists. Can someone help me?! Did I buy a bad unit, or can I clean the contact area in the machine? I am new to NEO-GEO and I'm totally clueless. Thanks very much.

Tung Fu Rue's Prize Student
20 Year Member
Hello FDR,

What is the serial number of your console?

hines1515

Cheng's Errand Boy
the unit is defective...no aes does that..

and its not uncommon for an aes game to look like a sega genesis game either..:lolz:

JMKurtz

Tech Support Moderator,
20 Year Member
Are you sure you're not just looking at the notorious crappy video of the AES system? Are you using the composite or RF cables?

If you need the system repaired, I offer free evaluations. If it's poor picture quality that you're concerned with, I also offer a complete line of system mods.

Feel free to drop me an email at jmkurtz@columbus.rr.com. If you can include a picture of what you're seeing, that would also help.

Jeff

norton9478

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
20 Year Member
JMKurtz said:
Are you sure you're not just looking at the notorious crappy video of the AES system?

That's what I'm guessing;

FDR said:
and is very distracting around white text.

and is especially annoying around the life meters in fighting games. .

Tung Fu Rue's Prize Student
20 Year Member
FDR said:
Hi. Thanks for responding.
The serial number is 011287.