OK, getting back into MVS but... I want to consolize myself. Tips/links/info?

Adam Gallant

King's Dry Cleaner
I'm back again after a loooooooooooong hiatus... and looking to get back into the ranks of MVS. However, now that I've successfuly modded a Genny and a Saturn, I think I might be steady enough with the solder to consolize myself. Info seems kind of scarce, but I know you guys have to have some good sources.

Additional info to think about for my case:

1) We have a cat. The cat likes to jump on things. The cat is very very staticy. Bad times all round.

Need to find a way to completely enclose the system.

2) Due to #1 would it be better to go the supergun route, and make the thing big enough to enclose the board and supergun?

Things to consider: I have NO woodworking experience, nor the ability/space to get any.

Well sirs, what do you think?

-AG

Neo Alec

Warrior of the Innanet
20 Year Member
In my opinion, superguns should be very small, since there's no reason for them to be as big as I've sometimes seen them. So going the supergun route doesn't help anything at all. I would just do a standard consolization and not worry about it. Just study superguns and consolizations enough and you'll eventually figure out how to do it. Visit D-Lite's site, www.multimods.com, for some good pointers on the hardware needed. Woodworking does not come into play here.

Adam Gallant

King's Dry Cleaner
the above tip is probably the best tip ever for anything. Except maybe disarming a bomb.

The big key here is that full enclosure is -necessary- due to the cat. I can't do a regular consolization for fear of static damage.

But still, any good starting points in consolizations online? SRG doesn't seem to have too many articles, unfortunatly.

-AG

Neo Alec

Warrior of the Innanet
20 Year Member
As long as it's not a 1-slot, I think the standard case will be sufficient.

I don't understand the pet concerns, because I'm not a pet person.

SSS

neo retired