help a newb

Coleman

n00b
I am a long time collector of classic video games but i am new to the neo geo. Based on what i have seen and read i have decided to buy an aes but now i am hearing alot about mods. I want to make sure that i get the most for my money. Can someone explain to me what a unibios upggrade is for. the console that i am looking at has version 2.1 and i am wondering if this will allow me to play MVS carts without an adaptor as well as what kind of problems i will run into

RATM

Zack de la Neo,
There is no way to play MVS carts on an AES system without an adapter like the Phantom-1, they have completely different pinouts.

The unibios will allow you to mess with the soft-dip settings in a games, which basically lets you do things like have blood in USA mode for certain games etc.

neotopia

n00b
a consolized MVS is simply an Arcade motherboard (1, 2,4,6 slots) thats been modified to work on your home TV. It is probably the next best thing to an actual arcade cab.

I started out with an AES system also. But using a phantom-1 to convert the MVS games was a pain in the butt. Now I have a 6-slot Neo Geo cab. yeah, its heaven in a Red wooden box.:make_fac: :

If you need a home system Neo Geo (AES), I have both, Japanese and US version.

Coleman

n00b
Well i am interested in an AES but i am not rih and i want the most bang for my buck. I will probably endup with a mvs later on down the road but for right now i just want an aes. I don't however want to worryy about trial and error of learning to mod a 2expensive system so i would prefer one that is finished. Let me know what you have available

Murray

Akari's Big Brother
If you're looking for bang for your buck and aren't rich, AES is exactly the wrong way to go. Price some games for it.

Save up the extra money and get a consolized MVS or MVS + supergun. Your wallet will thank you later when you start buying games.

complexs6

Camel Slug