Supergun building questions

TimeKillr

New Challenger
Hi guys,

I'm not sure if this is the exact place to ask about this (if it's not then I'll gladly delete /move the post somewhere else), but I'm in the process of building a supergun and I'm wondering a few things.

1- So far, I've got my Jamma harness ordered from Bob Roberts and a Neobitz encoder from JMKurtz. I also already have all the necessary hardware for building my sticks (I'll be using competition sticks + competition buttons). I'll be getting myself an old PC power supply for power to the jamma board so I'll be sure to have the +5, -5 and +12 lines. Is there anything else I'm missing (aside from obvious building materials and connectors)?

2- I had a crazy idea this morning (hey, I'm a game designer, that's what I do). I was thinking since remapping controls is somewhat of a bitch in arcade games (AFAIK nothing really lets you remap stuff, except maybe the AW platform) and that I might want a standard 4-button layout for MVS stuff but a square layout for games like Tekken I might have to look for an alternate solution. I've thought of switches, but then I realized there might be too many different layouts and having a 5-way switch might not be really optimal :)

My idea was basically to have a small controller for the input devices that acts as a filter and sends out button presses to the board depending on what mode it is in. To display the whole thing, I was thinking maybe a 2-3 lines LCD screen to display what mode it's in and act as on-screen instructions for control remapping. This way, I'd be able to remap buttons on-the-fly, switch on-the-fly as well and just generally have really good button compatibility with the gun/boards.

Basically, the way I see it, is a small reprogrammable chip capable of holding the button mapping information that also has input and output ports; I'd wire the input port to the controller and the controller then to the JAMMA inputs.