mv-1fz to 4 slot conversion

Neo a_bomb

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
I am interested in changing my 1 slot over to a 4 slot . Besides changing over the harness-(currently a jamma will have to be changed to an MVS) is there anything I need to know? Im fairly new to this but i have a gear head thats a wiz with electronics.

Please help me out with this one.

Thanks

a_bomb

Berty

Zero's Secretary
20 Year Member
You may need to carefully ramp up the output of your psu, as the 4 slot is alot more "hungry" than ordinary jamma boards. Good idea to grab yourself a cheap set of multi-meters if you dont already have them

SpamYouToDeath

I asked for a, Custom Rank and, Learned My Lesson.
15 Year Member
Not really... just make sure the power supply is powerful enough.

EDIT: That was in response to the original post, not the one directly above this one. And yeah... you do have to adjust the power supply. I had to turn mine up when I installed my 4-slot.

Last edited:

Neo a_bomb

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
So i shouldnt have to worry too much.

1-Can I use the current harness and make modifications or do i have to get a new one?

2-Im not 100% certain which power supply i have but Im confident that its adjustable. Is there a specific amperage / wattage I should be looking for ?

3-I downloaded the manuals for each mother board from hardMVS respectively to see the differences in them. I know i will have to install a game change button to swap carts but, can I run it without the memory card support,headphone jack and other things trivial? Im pretty sure I wont need them.

4- The last question for now is my cab is mono, will I have to make significant adjustments to it or can i just switch to mono with the new motherboard?

Hope Im not asking too many questions I am still new to this ish.

Thanks for your responses. I wont hesitate to keep asking!:)

a_bomb

Berty

Zero's Secretary
20 Year Member