Is this a boot (pics inside)

johnno15

Super Spy Agent
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Posts
624
IMG_1452.jpg


IMG_1451.jpg


Sorry for the crap pics :confused:

Anyway I bought this MOTW of ebay. When it arrived this morning it came in a shitty clear case but not fully clear almost frosted with a reprinted label and when I put it in the graphics are messed up. Ive cleaned the contacts but it not helped.

Is it a boot? I know nothing about this side of the mvs so if any of you tech heads could help me out that would be great. Ill try to get some better pics up later.
Cheers Jonathan :D
 

P00t

Fuck eBay & PayPal,
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Posts
2,745
johnno15 said:
IMG_1452.jpg


IMG_1451.jpg


Sorry for the crap pics :confused:

Anyway I bought this MOTW of ebay. When it arrived this morning it came in a shitty clear case but not fully clear almost frosted with a reprinted label and when I put it in the graphics are messed up. Ive cleaned the contacts but it not helped.

Is it a boot? I know nothing about this side of the mvs so if any of you tech heads could help me out that would be great. Ill try to get some better pics up later.
Cheers Jonathan :D

No mate, this is a boot:
timberland-torrance-boot-l.jpg


haha I know, that ones getting old.

Sorry to say but your MOTW is a boot :( hope you didn't pay out of your arse :(
 

johnno15

Super Spy Agent
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Posts
624
Cheers kids no i didnt pay out of my arse £25 but ill get that refunded. Out of interest how can you tell?
 

El Capitan

Mai's Apprentice
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
1,811
Just look at it Johnno!!!

The weird sized chips, the windowed eeprom, that wire, and are the boards actually a gold colour? I expect there is some bad/ugly soldering on the reverse too.

yuk!

also I can't tell from the pic, but all the solid rom chips should be labelled with the number of the game - e.g. all the roms on baseball stars pro have "002" on them somewhere - they should all have "253" on them - do they?
 

johnno15

Super Spy Agent
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Posts
624
no they have all different numbers on them
0402
0338
0250
0410
0338
 

El Capitan

Mai's Apprentice
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
1,811
surefire booty.

check one of your other MVS - a legit one - all will have the NGH code number on - you can see the code in the master list here at www.neo-geo.com
 

Murray

Akari's Big Brother
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Posts
2,533
johnno15 said:
Cheers kids no i didnt pay out of my arse £25 but ill get that refunded. Out of interest how can you tell?
Several MX flash chips of varying sizes, some windowed EPROMs, yellow 3rd party PCB, that wire from the chip to the PCB, and what looks like a sloppy soldering job on that square chip in the second pic (or is that epoxy?).

Edit: you may find this thread helpful as well: http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120255
 
Last edited:

johnno15

Super Spy Agent
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Posts
624
Thanks for all the help everyone and murry those links are great. This was the first time ive studied the actual board I can clearly see now that that is a shit boot and ill know for future reference :D
 

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Posts
10,830
Ooooshhh..

Booty..

I would ask if it works but I wouldn't even take the chance on trying it..
 

Dr. Jigglin

Seasoned Expert
20 Year Member
10 Year Member
15 Year Member
1 Year Member
25 Year Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Posts
25,449
Alright let me fix all of you're loose mvs cart needs by educating you on this fairly old site that sells loose MVS carts that are 100% legit and cheap as hell.

www.excellentcom.net

Don't buy mvs carts off of eBay cause you run the risk of getting a bootleg, buy your carts from Excellentcom instead.
 

ttooddddyy

PNG FTW,
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Posts
8,335
lachlan said:
www.excellentcom.net

Don't buy mvs carts off of eBay cause you run the risk of getting a bootleg, buy your carts from Excellentcom instead.

My bootleg cart is coming from excellent.com :eek_2:

edit- but they do indicate boots just like cosmicco *
 

Dr. Jigglin

Seasoned Expert
20 Year Member
10 Year Member
15 Year Member
1 Year Member
25 Year Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Posts
25,449
ttooddddyy said:
My bootleg cart is coming from excellent.com :eek_2:

edit- but they do indicate boots just like cosmicco *

That's weird though cause I never got an email with boots listed but they do tell you if they are legit or not.
The carts that are boots are things like Puzzle Bobble, games like MOTW can be had for $40 us from them.
 

ckchan

Shlong King,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2001
Posts
326
yes, it's definitely a boot.....but does it have a chance to be a prototype?
 

ki_atsushi

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
20 Year Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Posts
23,747
ckchan said:
yes, it's definitely a boot.....but does it have a chance to be a prototype?

I think even protos are on legit SNK boards. This one has nothing going for it.
 

Superfamifreak

Kula's Diamond
20 Year Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Posts
3,436
ckchan said:
yes, it's definitely a boot.....but does it have a chance to be a prototype?

Not a chance. It's just way too shoddy, even by SNK standards.
 

Mutation

Super Sidekicks 3
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Posts
158
ckchan said:
yes, it's definitely a boot.....but does it have a chance to be a prototype?

No, I don't think because the prototypes (like Baseball Stars 2) which don't use Flash Memories (I mean unlike the rare prototypes like Bang² Busters, Last Odyssey...) have a sticker on each chip with checksum 16 mentionned at the bottom.
 

Cyberflexx

Kuroko's Training Dummy
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Posts
71
whats the ebay id you bought it from so we all will know to avoid him since he sells junky bootlegs
 

johnno15

Super Spy Agent
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Posts
624
Just to clear this up I bought it from a reputable seller and the situation has been resolved.
 

dogtoy

Haomaru's Blade Shiner
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Posts
689
ttooddddyy said:
I hope my MS6 bootleg cart isnt going to look like that :eek_2:

Sorry to bump this thread, but...uh...MS6? Are there already Atomiswave bootlegs or is this some kind of MVS hack called MS6?

cheers,
-DT
 
Top