Need help with resurrection of MVS

unclepappy

n00b
This might be asking a lot, so any amount of guidance or point in the right direction will help tremendously.

So here's the deal: Gotta 2 slot dedicated MVS cab that won't turn on. Used to turn on (hardly used it after I bought it), had a problem with the screen (vertically squished picture) but worked fine. Doesn't turn on now after long period of negligence.

Haven't touched the thing in months (after giving up on powering it up), been too busy with other things. Now the time has come to bring this baby back to life, but there's a problem - I have no experience with electronics hardware whatsoever. I have no idea where to start or what to do to get this thing running again.

What I'm humbly asking for is a little advice on what to do to figure out the problem as well as a list of any equipment/diagrams I should be prepared to have.

Thanks for your time, folks!

NEgO MANIAC

Sieger's Squire
15 Year Member
First check for any safety switches that may be open, usiually on the back side. If all the switches are good. try replacing the power supply. Most arcade problems are result of bad power supplies.

unclepappy

n00b
hmm

Well, I suppose it is a pretty old machine. Where might I find a new power supply if I need one?

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
This is the what your MVS power supply looks like out of the cabinet.(Thank you Briggs)
http://www.hardmvs.com/html/powerSupply.htm
Correct-Direct Plug In MVS power supply...

This is the direct 'plug in" replacement provided that your wiring hasn't been cut to put in a common type Power Supply.

Common type As:
http://www.happcontrols.com/images/80/80006400_thumb.jpg

What you need=
Ultimate 150 Watt Power Supply with External On/Off Cable
5V 15A, +12V 5.5A, -5V 1A

http://www.happcontrols.com/powersupplies/80007200.htm
80007200.gif

http://www.happcontrols.com/

Ultimate 150 Watt Power Supply with External On/Off Cable
5V 15A, +12V 5.5A, -5V 1A
UL and CSA recognized