Which shmups do you recommend?

bUs

Zero's Secretary
I'm just getting into shumps at a serious level. When I was a kid I really liked Life Force for NES, but after that the genre didn't really do much for me. After watching kiken's shmups special my fire for shmups however was lit once again! I dug up R-Type for SNES which I had in my bookshelf but had not really been playing and it was a good game (finished it today actually). I really like the "alone in space" feeling in a shmup, and I don't really care for shumps like Gunbird or Blazing Star with tons of shit flying around the screen. Soon I will pick up Last Resort and I was wondering what other titles within the genre has a similar look and feel to it?

Mike Shagohod

Stray Dog Grunt
20 Year Member
NES/Famicom
--------------------------

CRISIS FORCE
RECCA SUMMER CARNIVAL '92
SALAMANDER

Mega Drive / Genesis
-----------------------------------

ALESTE *FULL METAL FIGHTER ELLINOR
(AKA: MUSHA)

OPERATION CODE: VAPOR TRAIL
Advanced Busterhawk GLEYLANCER
ELIMINATE DOWN
TASK FORCE HARRIER EX
Shark! Shark! Shark! (AKA: Fire Shark)
Kyukyoku Tiger (Twin Cobra)

Super Famicom (SNES)
-------------------------------------

AREA 88 (UN Squadron)
Macross Scrambled Valkyrie
Axelay

SEGA SATURN
--------------------------

Sengoku Blade (Sengoku Ace II)
Layer Section
Layer Section II
Thunder Force V
Blast Wind
Soukyu Gurentai
Battle Garegga
Steam Hearts
Strikers 1945
Strikers 1945 II
Panzer Dragoon Zwei

PC-ENGINE
----------------------

Lords of Thunder
Gate of Thunder
Ray Xanber II
Spriggan
Spriggan Mark II
Download
Download 2
Soldier Blade
Macross 2036
Galaxy Policewoman SAPPHIRE

...and that's all that comes to mind. *There aren't too many on the NEO:GEO so you can't be too picky.

GK

bUs

Zero's Secretary
Thanks! Are those "good shooters in general" or just some random ones? I recognize some names and from what I've read some of those games isn't very good (Download comes to mind)...

Mike Shagohod

Stray Dog Grunt