My first cab!

Dji

n00b
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Neo scene; in fact, I just recently received my first arcade cabinet, from an eBay auction that I won. I had only seen an MVS once I think, and had never seen an AES or Neo CD. I had been playing with the roms ( :oh_no: ) for a while, and the feeling of disgust and shame was overwhelming considering the games were the best I had played...perhaps ever. Now this is coming from someone who's owned a dozen home systems, hundreds of games, etc. You see, I never burned a single game disc, not even once. Not for PS1, nor PS2, nor DC, nor Xbox...yet I own a load of games for those. Even for GBA, even though I did download a lot of roms, I ended up deleting most of them and buying around 30 legit games.

So I was looking for a solution to this Neo Geo problem. Now, I did not want a Neo CD(Z) because I simply cannot stand load times, and I just hate seeing scratches on the discs. I would rather have paid more to avoid load times. The choice was between a supergun (which I enquired about on these forums last year) and an AES. But it did not pan out, and I left this crazy idea of getting into the Neo scene on the shelf for a while. I browsed through eBay auctions just for kicks, looked at websites that would sell Neo stuff, but I didn't get to buy anything...until an auction that was just what I was looking for. Since I was a kid, I had that crazy dream of actually owning an arcade cabinet, even though I never really thought I could afford it. Last year, I almost bought an Ultracade, but it cost so damn much it wasn't possible for me to do so. Now I'm glad I couldn't, since I discovered so many better games on the Neo (even though I only experienced the roms and ports). As a matter of fact, let me tell you how I discovered the joy of SNK.